Tips On California Worker’s Compensation Claims

Worker’s compensation is an important tool for the modern worker. Larry with My Lawsuit Loans says, “If you are injured on the job and it is not your fault you should not be penalized in the form of lost wages, medical bills, or lost abilities.” While California does have more comprehensive worker’s compensation laws than most other states, there are still some important tips that you should keep in mind when filing for worker’s compensation.

Report the Injury As Soon As Possible

Worker’s compensation laws do have reporting requirements, usually stretching out to 30 days, but you should not wait until the very last second before you file your claim. This is because while the law may give you 30 days to file, most worker’s compensation insurance companies will fight claims that are not filed quickly. As a result it is imperative that any work injury be reported to the employer immediately. You should report a claim even if you are unsure about whether or not the injury will cause you to miss work or require the service of medical professionals.

Find witnesses

It is important to gather as many witnesses as possible. Insurance companies will always try to find ways to avoid making payment. By having witnesses and getting their statements as soon as possible you make it much harder for the insurance company to refuse to pay claims. Witness statements, especially those obtained immediately after an incident, will give you good ground to stand on when fighting for the compensation that is rightfully yours.

Seek Medical Care

Do not wait to seek medical care if you think that you may need it. In addition to providing documentation of the injury, medical records can help demonstrate that an injury occurred at the workplace and were caused by the work you were doing. Also make sure that you attend any and all follow up appointments or therapy sessions. A failure to do so will be used as proof by insurance companies that your injury is not as severe as you claim, cutting the amount of your benefits or even terminating them completely.

Do Not Give Statements Without a Lawyer Present

“Insurance companies will frequently ask injured workers to give a tape recorded statement regarding their injury. Insurance companies also have an army of lawyers on hand.” Ned Cook, a representative of Hinden Law, said. With their more intimate knowledge of worker’s compensation laws, these lawyers will ask you questions that will attempt to undermine your claim, usually without you even realizing it. That is why it is important to have legal representation of your own if you are going to give st

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *